Homemade Oreos

Image

You know what they say; if at first you don’t succeed, open all the windows and doors, air out the smoke, replace the batteries in the smoke detectors (they definitely should have gone off…) apologize to the neighbors, drink a big glass of wine, wait about a week and try again.

I found this recipe here, and thought it looked simple enough. Well, not so much. I really can’t put my finger on where exactly I went wrong, but one of the major mistakes I made was using wax paper, which, I now know, is not the same as parchment paper, there is an important distinction between the two (hence the smoke).

Here is what my first attempt at this recipe looked like:

Image

so yeah.

The second time I made the following modifications:

1. used parchment paper

2. added an extra half an egg white

3. added the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients slowly (the recipe tells you to do this, but I forgot the first time)

4. Made the cookies by rolling up balls of dough about an inch in diameter (instead of using an ice cream scoop-those were too big)

5. Baked them for only 7 minutes instead of the 10-12 the recipe called for (they burned)

The dough for these cookies is so stiff that my mixer started letting off a weird melting-plastic smell… Probably time to get a new one!

All-in-all they turned out pretty great  (they involve a lot of butter and sugar so they are, of course, delicious)

Image

They certainly look pretty!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Oreos

  1. Cookie fans unite! Thanks for sharing, Caitlin. I’ve never made homemade oreos…but I do have a fave oreo in season: Candy Cane Trader Joe Joes Cookies nowhttp://www.traderjoesfan.com/component/mtree/products/desserts_sweets/candy_cane_trader_joe_joes_cookies/

Leave a Reply

