The Perfect Gingerbread

ImageEvery year my mom makes tons of amazing Christmas treats. They’re all delicious, but what stands out as my very favorite, are her gingerbread cookies.  They are AMAZING! Soft and spicy and not too sweet.  I could easily eat an entire tin full of them.

Over the weekend I asked my mom to help me whip up a batch of this old family recipe:

Image

As you can see from the photo, this recipe has been well used! I especially like that it says “makes lots”

Image

Of course the best part about gingerbread cookies is decorating them.

For frosting we (my mom) made a royal frosting, she makes this without a recipe, but she estimates the following measurements:

1 egg white

8th of a teaspoon cream of tartar

1.5 cups of icing sugar

splash of lemon juice  (or more depending on how stiff you want it to be)

Image

I highly recommend adding this recipe to your Christmas baking.  It’s a classic. For me, it wouldn’t feel like Christmas without them!

3 thoughts on “The Perfect Gingerbread

Leave a Reply

